You smell wonderful – thank you – it’s all natural of course.

As you hopefully all know by now, for just over two years I have been striving to go completely natural with my beauty products. I was doing so well  – but something was amiss. I could hear an evil snigger every time I went near my dressing table. Hoping this would go away I just ignored it. After a while it was beginning to grate – my only choice was to find the source. I looked through my stash of makeup goodies and they were pretty happy polishing their halos. My haircare and skincare all gave me a big grin and a pat on the back. So what was I missing?

Suddenly there it was – a beautiful bottle of Guerlain perfume sticking out its red forked tongue and saying the rudest things. I blushed a deep shade of pink and thought to myself “How could this beautiful bottle and its gorgeous smelling liquid be the devil in disguise?” I had to find out. Nothing though is ever as straight forward as you hope. Bottles of scent for reasons of secrecy, do not have to display their ingredients (more chuckling ensued from the bottle). So how was I to know what I was spraying on my skin – why was my perfume giving me the evil eye?

I found an article from the big leagues to help me out. Scientific American was a great source of information. Here is an extract from that article:

“Ahhh…the sweet smell of petrochemicals! The Environmental Working Group (EWG) reports that, while many popular perfumes, colognes and body sprays contain trace amounts of natural essences, they also typically contain a dozen or more potentially hazardous synthetic chemicals, some of which are derived from petroleum. 

““ . . . The average fragrance product tested contained 14 secret chemicals not listed on the label,” reports EWG, which analyzed the Campaign’s data. “Among them are chemicals associated with hormone disruption and allergic reactions, and many substances that have not been assessed for safety in personal care products.” EWG adds that some of the undisclosed ingredients are chemicals “with troubling hazardous properties or with a propensity to accumulate in human tissues.” Examples include diethyl phthalate, a chemical found in 97 percent of Americans and linked to sperm damage in human epidemiological studies, and musk ketone, which concentrates in human fat tissue and breast milk.”

The bottle sobbed crocodile tears – but I had to be strong – off to ebay she went.

I now had to find my Angel. I though this would be easy – it isn’t. Most natural perfumes are extremely expensive. Many are wolves as the mineral powders were before them – not natural at all. I was beginning to despair – then one day I saw a bright light guiding me its way. It was guiding me to Marks and Spencer. My angel had come in to land in the shape and smell of a pretty little scent bottle smelling of vanilla and all things yummy – and Acorelle Vanille Ambrée was her name.

acorelle vanille ambree rassurante Eau de Parfum

Her autobiography is as follows:

“No nitrated musks, phthalates, parabens, phenoxyethanol, synthetic colouring agents, antioxidants, synthetic emollients or synthetic oils, synthetic fragrance materials, pesticides, chemical fertilizers, gmos, radioactivity, heavy metals, nitrates and raw materials of animal origin.”

I can’t promise you hand on heart that it is as natural as a freshly budded blossom – but it is as close as I can find – and I am not letting it go.

No longer do I hear those evil snickers – now only a choir of heavenly voices.

You can buy this brand from many other places on the internet – so don’t fret if you do not have a Marks and Spencer near you. Acorelle also has a number of other beautiful scents in her collection. I will definitely be buying Verveine Agrumes Eau de Parfum for the softer spring and summer months.

2 thoughts on “You smell wonderful – thank you – it’s all natural of course.

Leave a Reply

