Ilia you could be my one true love but will you last?

I decided to try out Ilia lipstick as I had read so many good things about this line. Being Content do a service where you can order 4 samples for £3 from their website so I added two colours of Ilia lipstick to my sample collection. I am on the look out for a bright red and so far have found some pretty reds, but nothing that really stands out and compares to brands like Mac (I do love Ruby Woo, but don’t want to use none natural products anymore, no matter how much it calls to me!).

The lipsticks arrived in tiny pots with the names written on the lids.

ilia lipstick

The above photograph actually shows the colours pretty well. As they were such tiny samples I had to apply it with a lipbrush, and WOW. This is a lovely product. It is beautifully moisturising, the colours go on really well and are really opaque and bright. There is no overpowering smell, in fact I couldn’t really detect a smell at all. When the lipstick was on, before blotting, it had a lovely sheen to it, almost like you had added lip gloss over the top.

Funnel of Love, is a nude colour, a little too orange for my skintone so I won’t be buying it, but would suit a darker skin.

Wild Child is beautiful, really punchy, glossy and I dare say could replace my Ruby Woo. I have had the red on for a few hours, drunk some water and eaten an apple, and it is still very much there. The gloss has come off, but it is stronger than a stain. I will let you all know how long it stays on through out the day.

My only concern with this lipstick is the price, it is a whopping £20. I think I will check out the Lily Lolo range before I commit to buying this as that is under half the price, but I don’t think I am going to find a red as beautiful as this one.

Below is Funnel of Love, just after applying, in sunlight:

ilia funnel of love lipstick

This is Wild Child, again just after applying and in sunlight:

ilia wild child lipstick

My quest for the perfect lipstick goes on, though I am not sure I can beat this, just the price is a bit much.

Leave a Reply

