Out damn spot!

“New year – New me”, that is my mantra most years. Normally this lasts for a few weeks then real life gets in the way. Well this year I decided instead of saying I am going to change something massive for the whole year I would start with one month – see how it goes – no hard feelings if it doesn’t go further – jubilation if it does. This year (sorry this January) I am jumping on the ‘quit sugar’ bandwagon.

quit sugar

I am a complete and utter sugar addict – so I knew this would be hard – but hopefully good for me. I read David Gillepsie’s book ‘The sweet poison quit plan’ and I haven’t looked back – yes it is only two weeks in – but I am impressed and gobsmacked by what he says about sugar.

david gillespie sweet poison quit plan

It has been difficult, but I think in the long run it could be fabulous. “Why are you telling us this”, I hear you cry. Well it seems the downside of ridding your body of this poisonous substance is it can give you a spot or two – only one so far for me – but still one too many.

I have talked in great detail about the fabulous spot killing properties of apple cider vinegar and manuka honey – but these do not always work as fast as I want them to – yes I am vain (aren’t we all just a little bit) – I want it to go ASAP. When I am stressed or unhappy my skin decides to make matters worse by breaking out. A few years back I was extremely stressed and unhappy and I was blessed with spot after painful spot. I researched and researched and found that red and blue light therapy can work wonders. I bought a Lumie Clear machine and hey presto (well not as fast as that but pretty speedily) my skin cleared up.

lumie clear light therapy

This machine was pretty expensive around £130 though worth its weight in gold as far as I was concerned. But when it had done its job and I was back to having clear skin I sold it on ebay and got most of my money back. A few years later I wished I hadn’t been so rash selling it. I found that no matter how careful you are with your skin the spots can still surface. I was not prepared to shell out this kind of money again, so back to Google I went. This time round I found a fabulous little gadget called the Rio skin clear – I found it on Amazon for around £25 and thought I would give it a go.

rio light skin clear therapy

I am really impressed with this little machine. It definitely quickens up the healing process of painful spots and helps them reduce in size pretty fast. If I left the spots to their own devices they would happily hangout and party on my skin for a few weeks, getting bigger and more confident as the days went on. But using this little device twice a day for 8 minutes I found that they only lasted a few days and never get big or too painful. Unfortunately nothing natural I have ever used will zap them into oblivion on the first go – but this teamed with my apple cider vinegar spray and manuka honey is pretty fast – as close to using a magic wand as I can find.

Below is some science stuff from rio explaining the light therapy if you are interested:

‘The blue light in the Skin Clear Light directly kills the bacteria involved in acne, while the red light helps reduce inflammation and stimulate the healing process. The result is clearer and smoother skin. Research has shown that combined blue and red light treatment is significantly more effective than using benzoyl peroxide which is a common treatment for mild to moderate acne.’

Good luck with your new years choices. I hope you find the magic you are looking for.

magic

Leave a Reply

