If a tree falls in a forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?

Last night I was lying in bed listening out for my daughter – the lurgy hangs over us once again. I stared into the semi darkness as the pale moonlight was seeping through the blinds. A question popped into my head “When the sun goes to bed and the moon lights up the night sky do the colours actually disappear and fade to shades of black and white?” What has this to do with ‘natural beauty’ – absolutely nothing. I just wanted to put that question out there.

Okay, here is the beauty stuff. A while back a friend asked me if I could help her with her ‘acne rosacea’ which for years had been making her very unhappy. This affects your face and makes your skin very red and bumpy and pretty miserable.

acne rosacea natural cure

I promised I would try my hardest to help. At the time I had had an allergic reaction to something that had touched my skin and I had an uncomfortable rash on my face. So I trawled the web and came across ideas that developed into this great face mask. I tried it on myself first and hey presto my skin breathed a sigh of relief and went back to being smooth and happy. I passed on the mask to my friend – she said for the first time in years her rosacea went away and you now can see her beautiful, youthful skin shining through. I can’t promise you that this will work for all of you – but if your skin is misbehaving, unhappy or even a few spots are appearing give it a go and see if you have the same exciting results as we had.

After much research I found that the best ingredient you can use for this is turmeric – the yellow stuff you use for cooking curries etc.

Turmeric-Root-and-Powder-1024x666

Below is the recipe:

1 tablespoon raw organic honey (I use manuka honey, anything over 16+ but it is expensive)
1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon vitamin e oil (If you don’t have any vitamin e oil start off using organic olive oil.)

Mix all this together in a glass bowel.

When using this for the first time try a small area of your face which is effected, a very small area about 1cm squared. Leave it on for an hour but take it off straight away if there is any stinging or pain. You can cover the rest of the mask with cling film and leave it in a dish until later. If you get on fine with the patch test then carry on as below.

Tie your hair back and do not wear anything white or anything you mind staining as turmeric stains terribly and will not come out.

Use old foundation or any soft makeup brush to smooth it onto your face as again this will stain your hands.

acne rosasea face mask

I recommend only doing this at night because it is likely that you will have a hint of yellow on your face but it will fade by the morning. Also you mustn’t get the mask on your eyebrows or your hair.

Leave it on for half an hour up to one hour if you can. Then wash off with water. I would use paper towels to pat your face dry or a dark towel, as again it will stain them. Spray your face with a small bit of your vinegar spray then slather on your rosehip oil and go to sleep on an old pillowcase.

Do this every evening if you can for a week or until it starts to help.

Lastly don’t mix this with chemical products found in your local drugstore as they will counteract the mask and stop it working.

I can’t promise miracles and this might not work for all of you, but it did for my friend and certainly made my rash disappear after a few goes. Hopefully it will make your skin smile again.

happy face

2 thoughts on “If a tree falls in a forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?

  1. Another really helpful post. In my own experience turmeric is used in Naturopathy & Auyurvedic medicine for its anti-inflammatory, antioxidant, anti-tumour, antibacterial, antiseptic & antiviral properties- not a bad repertoire eh. It is supposed to calm the internal organs, particularly the stomach and liver. Perhaps as well as imparting it’s beautiful colour to spicy curries it acts as a soothing counterpart to something irritating like chilli.

    I try to use it as often as I can stir frying veg with it along with a scoop of coconut oil. Coating chicken in it before oven baking etc. I know that strays off the point slightly, as this isn’t a dietary blog, but i’m fascinated by the link between what’s good for the inside & general health must also often be good for our largest bodily organ – the skin.

    It makes perfect sense to me that something which is calming to ingest would also be calming to the skin. Some people use freshly juiced turmeric & apply it to skin conditions, including eczema & allergic reactions. I previously presumed that this vibrant spice just came in dried ground form but I recently saw tubers of it in Morrisons, of all places – I was most impressed. I wonder if a small dab of it in some form would help to calm down an angry spot overnight?

    I also just read that;
    ‘Haldi doodh (turmeric milk) is warm milk mixed with some turmeric powder. It is commonly used in India as a home remedy when someone is suffering from fever’
    – perhaps worth a try on your daughter as a very diluted gentle mix?

    Wishing all well & looking forward to your next post.

Leave a Reply

