Bellapierre, will you be mine – well for now anyway?

Whilst I sit here looking after my poor sick daughter (you can never escape the winter bug it seems!). I am pondering on what makeup I use that gives the illusion of actually having had a full night’s sleep. One wonderful makeup product springs to mind.

I am sure most of you have heard about mineral powder foundation. A proper pure brand of mineral makeup is actually a treatment for your skin as well as a foundation. If it is pure (there are many which are as pure as the driven snow unfortunately) then you can sleep in this foundation and it will not clog your pores or cause blemishes. This apparently was the only makeup plastic surgeons would recommend to their patients, after surgery on their face, as it proved to help the healing process and was so pure.

I have had a love affair with mineral powder foundation for over 14 years. I adore the natural no makeup look you can achieve when using this. My first foray into this product came many moons ago when I was watching an infomercial on some brand of mineral foundation. I was mesmerised with the before and after shots of the women on screen and being “Mollie tried and tested” at the time I had to see if it was real. I ordered a sample and tried it on. Off I popped to meet a good friend and the first thing she said was how fabulous my skin looked. Well that was it – the love set in and stayed.

Over the years I have tried a number of mineral powder foundations. For years I stuck with Bare Minerals as that was the main mineral powder on the market and really the only one you could buy in stores.

bare minerals foundaiton

I was pleased with this brand, but did on occasion feel it left my skin a little bit dry and sometimes slightly itchy. Later I found that this was because of the ingredient – Bismuth Oxychloride. After research I found out that this is not a very nice ingredient to have in your foundation. Here is an extract from green health research:

Bismuth oxychloride is notorious for causing allergic reactions when applied to the skin. These reactions include itching, redness, slight swelling of the skin, and hives. Bismuth oxychloride can also clog pores and trigger acne, leading to mild to severe breakouts.

I have also read, in a recent article on natural health, that Bismuth Oxychloride is closely related to Arsenic – who would want to put that on their face or even near it.

So after reading about this I trawled the web for another, purer brand. I came up with Elemental Beauty which I loved. Their nude shade was perfect for my skin and the coverage was excellent.

elemental beauty foundation

I am but a fickle child though and kept up my quest – I wanted more! Then I found Bellapierre. This loose powder foundation is simply the Rolls Royce of mineral makeup. It has a beautiful shimmer but very subtle. I have read complaints about there not being enough colours to choose from – but the Ultra is perfect for my very pale yellow based skin tone.

bella pierre loose powder foundation

It stays on most of the day and really gives my skin a wonderful glow which looks pretty flawless. A lot of this is down to application too which I will cover in another post. The packaging is far superior than other powders. There is a clever turning bit inside which keeps your powder safe when you are traveling. Unfortunately this does come at a price ­– around £35, $65 for the Americans – wow I hear you say. If you are savvy you can find it much cheaper. I bought mine from Amazon for £18. No matter how much I love this foundation I would drop it like a hot coal if I had to pay £35 ($65). l hope by that time I won’t have broken Elemental Beauty’s heart too much and they will take me back at a very affordable £10.99.

My only gripe about Bellapierre would be that is does not cover blemishes as well as Elemental Beauty but the gorgeous finish is worth the sacrifice.

I will always have a soft spot in my heart for Elemental Beauty – but for the moment I am thinking of proposing to Bellapierre Ultra foundation – I just need to find the right ring!

There are many many mineral foundations out there. Most of these are wolves in sheep’s clothing. As I have said before ‘check the label’. A mineral foundation that has more than 4 or 5 ingredients is not pure – it is a naughty little devil on your shoulder trying to pull the wool over your eyes. Big brands such as Maybelline, Revlon, Estee Lauder and even supposedly ‘more natural’ brands like Laura Mercier (Bismuth Oxychloride anyone?) plus many others jumped onto the mineral powder foundation bandwagon a while ago but these are the wolves so do not be fooled – look at the labels!

Just for fun and to prove my point – lets compare a big brand powder’s ingredient list with Bellapierra (hopefully this will convince you naysayers out there):

Estee Lauder Nutrititous Vita-Mineral Loose Foundation:

Active Ingredient: Titanium Dioxide 2.1%. Other Ingredients: Talc, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Boron Nitride Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Magnesium Myristate,  Punica Granatum, Sterols, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate,  Zeolite, Retinyl Palmitate, Caprylyl Glycol, Calcium Silicate, Hydrogenated Styrene/Isoprene Copolymer, Sodium Chloride (salt), Tocopheryl Acetate, Lauryl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer, Hexylene , Zinc Stearate, Phenoxyethanol. May Contain: Bismuth Oxychloride, Titanium Dioxide Iron Oxides, Mica, Yellow 5 Lake, Chromium Oxide Greens, Ferric Ferrocyanide, Blue 1 Lake, Chromium Hydroxide Greens, Carmine.

Bellapierre Loose Powder Foundation:

Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Zinc Oxide, Iron Oxides. May contain: ultramarine.

Mmmmm – now I wonder which one is more natural and better for you?

7 thoughts on “Bellapierre, will you be mine – well for now anyway?

  1. Pingback: You smell wonderful – thank you – it’s all natural of course. | reviewing natural beauty

  2. Pingback: Who knew a neon pink sponge could be so wonderful. | reviewing natural beauty

  3. Hmm I never thought of using the beauty blender for mineral foundation! I can imagine that would be good to stop it going everywhere when you apply it (apparently inhaling titanium dioxide & ultramarines can be bad for the lungs… and it makes my contact lenses uncomfortable when it inevitably gets in my eyes).
    Just wondered if you had used Everyday Minerals and know how Bellapierre compares? I haven’t heard of Bellapierre before, but their ingredients look identical to EDM, although Bellapierre are much more expensive.

    • Hi Zoe
      Using a blender is a fantastic way of applying mineral foundation. I have read also about the dangers of inhaling mineral powder when you apply it. Because the blender is damp when you apply the foundation it is no longer loose so it does not go anywhere except where you want it. If you apply the foundation using a brush then it will fly all over the shop so using the blender is a healthier way of applying loose foundation without inhaling it. It takes a while to get the application perfect but when you do it is worth it.
      I haven’t tried everyday minerals as they don’t sell it easily in this country (as far as I am aware) or if they do I would have to go looking for it on the internet I couldn’t try it out first. They may have the same ingredients but it all depends on the quantity and quality of each ingredient – how they mix it – how finely ground it is etc. Many products can have the same ingredients but can be completely different when you apply them. It is all down to personal taste. I love this foundation and am happy to pay that bit more for something that is so pretty. I hope you find everyday minerals is for you.
      Thank you for looking at my blog.
      Mollie

Leave a Reply

